Danimal Cannon


Release ID:
Release date:
December 1st, 2011
Duration time:

Buy on

Bandcamp (10$)


"All the different styles find cohesion not just in the familiar timbres of the Game Boy’s software instruments but in the no holds barred, all-or-nothing approach to composition that Danimal masterfully executes throughout the length of the album. Roots makes for not just an extraordinary debut release, but a refreshing perspective on chip music composition that will hopefully lead others by example as the medium continues to expand into new horizons"Original Sound Version

"But above all, this record just plain rocks. It’s finer nuances are grounded in a fun-loving energy that can be appreciated by music journalists and arena rockers alike. This rare balance–it’s subtle yet unpretentious quality– gives Danimal Cannon’s music an unusually broad appeal that will no doubt take him far. To be sure, Roots is a strong recommendation to all chip fans, prog and otherwise"John Tiberio, Megabeep

"Roots is my debut chiptune album, I decided to "go big or go home" and make it ~70 minutes. I've been laboring over this album for over a year now and I've learned a lot along the way. It seems like with every new track I would discover a new way of making chiptunes, or another artist would inspire me to head in a different direction.

The album makes its way through a load of genres and moods, and that's because I love a lot of different kinds of music. The gameboy has such a distinctive sound, so that even though I traverse through so many genres the album retains a cohesiveness, glued together by the bonds of chiptune.

This album would not be possible without the sharing of information, tricks, and ideas. I still find myself learning things in LSDJ (someone showed me a new trick THIS WEEK). For this reason I've decided to include the .sav files in my album. Go ahead, learn, remix, be curious. There's no reason to have trade secrets in chiptune composing. I am extremely proud of what I've been able to accomplish with this album but it would not have happened without people showing me things first"

— Danimal Cannon.


All instruments played by Danimal Cannon except:

Track 9 Synergy:
3:38-6:00 bass guitar by Tony Dickinson
3:38-4:11 piano by Shnabubula
4:14-4:55 lead guitar by Paul Wardingham

Artwork by Francis Coulombe

Track listing

  1. intro (1:04)
  2. Roots (4:54)
  3. Forest Gnome Shindig (4:39)
  4. Polywrath (4:46)
  5. Agrobacter (2:57)
  6. Danimal Across America (3:26)
  7. A New Day (3:15)
  8. The Big Crunch (3:31)
  9. Synergy (ft. Paul Wardingham, Shnabubula, and Tony Dickinson) (6:02)
  10. Good Journey (Don't Say Goodbye) (3:32)
  11. Blueshift (4:19)
  12. Jean Luc (4:04)
  13. Gorelax (4:31)
  14. Spacewalk (4:29)
  15. Beethoven — Moonlight Sonata (6:06)
  16. She Will Be Remembered (4:05)
  17. Danimal Across America (IRL Mix) (3:26)
  18. Roots (IRL Mix) (4:49)