Impostor Nostalgia

Big Giant Circles


Release ID:
Release date:
September 12th, 2011
Duration time:

Buy on

Bandcamp ($3.99 or more)
CD Baby ($6.99)
Amazon ($8.99)
iTunes ($9.99)

Impostor Nostalgia is the debut album by video game music composer Big Giant Circles. It is a collection of retro inspired electronic-fused chiptune(ish) music featuring the talents of many amazing people from the video game music community, including C418 (Minecraft), Souleye (VVVVVV), Disasterpeace (FEZ), Alex Brandon (Deus Ex), Mick Gordon (Need for Speed Shift), zircon (Monkey Island 2) and many more.

A disgrace to true chip artists everywhere, this album tries hard to disguise it's tracks in varying degrees of chiptune elements to varying degrees of success. The important thing is that the music is saturated in the flavors of not only many classic game soundtracks you know and love, but also the more modern edge of electronic music. And most importantly of all, it's fun :)


Music by Big Giant Circles (Jimmy Hinson), featuring
C418, Souleye, Chris Geehan, Alex Brandon, zircon, Mick Gordon, flashygoodness, Josh Whelchel, Pongball, surasshu and Disasterpeace.

Artwork by PROTODOME (Blake Troise).

Track listing

  1. Big Giant Circles — Chips Ahoy Mateys (2:52)
  2. Big Giant Circles — Super VVVVVVeat Boy (4:34)
  3. Big Giant Circles & Chris Geehan — Flicker (4:37)
  4. Big Giant Circles & C418 — BGC418 (4:02)
  5. Big Giant Circles — Fight the Current (3:17)
  6. Big Giant Circles — Katana Blaster (3:12)
  7. Big Giant Circles & zircon — Buzzsaw (5:03)
  8. Big Giant Circles & Disasterpeace — HappiNESs (3:05)
  9. Big Giant Circles & Souleye — Yeah! (4:02)
  10. Big Giant Circles — Raindancer (4:56)
  11. flashygoodness — Fight the Current (Flashy Mix) (5:22)
  12. surasshu — Buzzsaw (Just Can't Wait Mix) (4:56)
  13. Josh Whelchel — Yo Ho Ye Big Giant Chips (Chips Ahoy Mateys Remix) (3:17)
  14. Mick Gordon — Katana Blaster (Constantly Playing Mix) (4:03)
  15. Big Giant Circles & Alex Brandon — Antimatter Factory (3:35)
  16. Big Giant Circles — You Can Have Mine (6:29)
  17. Big Giant Circles & Pongball — Your Quest is Over (4:02)
  18. Big Giant Circles — Big Giant Sae for a Dream [bonus track] (1:51)
  19. Big Giant Circles — Last Hope [bonus track] (1:33)
  20. Big Giant Circles — Some Things Are Not As They Seem (Impostor Nostalgia trailer) [bonus track] (0:48)